Recent Searches
Clear

Half-Day Boat Trip to Penguin Colony from Ushuaia

star-4.554 Reviews
|
Ushuaia, Argentina
Half-Day Boat Trip to Penguin Colony from Ushuaia

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Non-refundable
You will not receive a refund if you cancel. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon4 hours 30 minutes  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 2 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Learn about penguins during this half-day boat tour to one of the world's largest penguin colonies from Ushuaia. Travel by boat to the colony, navigating the Beagle Channel and listening to narration from your guide. Perfect for families or groups—morning and afternoon departure times are available to best suit your sightseeing schedule.
  • Boat tour to visit the Martillo Island penguin colony
  • Travel through the Beagle Channel via boat
  • See area highlights and landmarks
  • Hear narration about the penguins biology and behavior
Saved to wishlist!
4-hour boat navigation
Professional guide
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Gratuities
Food and drinks
Av. Prefectura Naval Argentina 470 , Av. Prefectura Naval Argentina 470, V9410 Ushuaia, Tierra del Fuego, Argentina

Travelers must be present 10 minutes before the scheduled time at the meeting point: Canoero box office in order to exchange tickets.

3:30 PM
This activity will end right where it started.
Make your way to the tour departure location thirty minutes prior to your chosen departure time.

Board the boat and set out toward the Beagle Channel, passing by the Maritime Museum and the End of the World. Take in the scenery, including the Olivia and Cinco Hermanos Mountains. Passing the Isla de los Lobos, observe the sea lions relaxing on the rocks. You'll also see the Magellanic cormorants living on the Pajaro Islands and the Les Eclaireurs Lighthouse. Other sights include Estancia Remolino, Isla Grande, and the Puerto Williams Naval Base. 

Once you reach Martillo Island, spend some time viewing and photographing the penguins while listening to your guide's narrative about their biology and behavior. 

Return to the Ushuaia port at the end of your tour.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Puerto Turístico (Tourist Port), Ushuaia, Tierra del Fuego, Argentina
The tour starts at the Canoeros box office located at the Touristic Port of Ushuaia. Here, you will receive all the indications to board the Catamaran
Duration: 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Not Included
Stop At:  
Canal Beagle
As we sail away, enjoy the panoramic view of the City of Ushuaia and the mountains Olivia and Cinco Hermanos.
Duration: 1 hour 
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Isla de Los Pajaros
This island is the habitat of Magellanic and Imperial Cormorants, a privileged sector to spot marine birds.
Duration: 1 hour 
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Faro Les Eclaireurs
A Lighthouse standing on the northeastern-most island of the five or more Les Eclaireurs islands.
Duration: 1 hour 
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Isla Martillo
We will stop to observe from the Catamaran the colony of Magellanic Penguins that nest during the summer season.
Duration: 1 hour 
Admission Ticket Included
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Not suitable for cruise passengers
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 40 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Tangol
This experience is non-refundable and cannot be changed for any reason. If you cancel or ask for an amendment, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Half-Day Boat Trip to Penguin Colony from Ushuaia?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Half-Day Boat Trip to Penguin Colony from Ushuaia.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Half-Day Boat Trip to Penguin Colony from Ushuaia?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Half-Day Boat Trip to Penguin Colony from Ushuaia.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Half-Day Boat Trip to Penguin Colony from Ushuaia?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Half-Day Boat Trip to Penguin Colony from Ushuaia.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Half-Day Boat Trip to Penguin Colony from Ushuaia?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Half-Day Boat Trip to Penguin Colony from Ushuaia.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "No need to do walk with penguins as it is roped off limited" See review
  • "Even though, you will need some zoom on your camera tô take good pictures." See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
54 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 54 reviews
star-3
Good experience but communication on inclusions of the tour to be improved
Marion_A
, Feb 2020
I enjoyed the tour as I got to see the penguins and sea-lions, we even had the luck to see some whales during the tour. However, I felt very disappointed as we actually don't go on the Isla Martillo itself. The boat is big, with close to 150 people on board. This isn't specified in the details of the tour, and I find it especially misleading since in the inclusion of the price it says "entry/admission to Isla Martillo". To me, that meant we get off the boat, and it is again reinforced by pictures of people on the island in the reservation booth in Ushuaïa. More info would be great so that people can buy the tour knowing exactly what they'll do. Bottom line, if you expect to get off the boat onto the island, don't book the tour.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2020
Dear Marion Aller Llamas, We apologize for the inconveniences. There was a mistake on the website indeed. We have corrected that detail since the description did not specify the stop in the island getting off the boat. We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again, so we can give you for free another activity in Argentina as a way to compensate our mistake. Again we are sorry for the inconvenience. Thank you for your comprehension and comments as it helps us improve the quality of our service. Kind regards.
star-1
Unfortunate experience with Viator and its affiliated tour partner
rsmcadam1
, Feb 2020
The low rating is due to the treatment we received from the tour operator (Tangol tours)that we were connected to by Viator. We booked (and received confirmation) for a morning tour to accommodate the time we had based on the ships scheduled arrival and departure time. Two days before we arrived the tour operator switched the tour time to the late afternoon which would have been bnb impossible for us. When we tried to work with them to change back or find another alternative they stopped communicating with us so we had no confirmed tour upon arrival in Ushuaia. Terrible customer service. Never use Tangol tours. Fortunately the local agent Juan Manuel negotiated with another tour company to accommodate us. He deserves credit for the good tour we received. In this case Viator should review its local tour partnerships.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2020
Dear Robert McAdam, The shipping company would not be able to operate on February 6 due to control reasons carried out by the Prefectura. As soon as we were notified, we sent you several messages from January 29th (9 days before your travel date), asking for alternative dates to reschedule your tour. You answered on February 4th saying that you were coming on a cruise, on the same day we answered your message that it would not be possible because the navigation was extended and you did not have enough time to get on the cruise ship. We offered you another alternative navigation and never again received a reply. We sincerely regret that you did not have access to our messages. So, for this reason we agreed with our team in Ushuaia to confirm your navigation through another ferry that fortunately had places available. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the navigation and the landscapes surrounding Ushuaia. Thank you for your comments as it helps us improve the quality of our service. Kind regards, Tangol Travel Agency
star-1
Disgusted with viator
lephoto
, Feb 2020
Were denied boarding at the meeting point indicated on 3 emails from provider and viator. I want full refund.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2020
Dear Traveler, We are truly sorry to read that your trip was cancelled. The shipping company would not be able to operate on February 6 due to control reasons carried out by the Prefectura and Cruises arrival. As soon as we were notified, we sent you several messages from January 29th (9 days before your travel date), asking for alternative dates to reschedule your tour. We sincerely regret that you did not have access to our messages. Thank you for your comments as it helps us improve the quality of our service. Kind regards, Tangol Travel Agency
star-1
The worse experience
huayuliu
, Jan 2020
Our trip was canceled by the operator when we showed up in their booth. The reason was that we didn’t have enough time to return to the cruise ship on time and the got our information only in the morning. What a disappointment and surprise to us. We book the tour months ago and provided detailed information about our cruise ship arriving and departing times. Spent more than one hour on phone because the person needs to confirm our booking with the operator. I had the worse experiences with Viator for many of the bookings. The confirmed bookings were canceled multiple times. They took your money for one to five days repeatly。 Every time, your spent one to two hours on phone with them because they said the need to confirm with their operator. I just can’t believe that Viator belongs to TripAdvisor can run business in this way.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2020
Dear traveler, We are truly sorry to read that your tour was cancelled. This navigation is not suitable for cruise passengers. This information is provided on the website. We apologize if it wasn't clear enough. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it helps us to improve our services. Kind regards, Tangol Travel Agency
star-5
Well worth it
jshye
, Jan 2020
This tour was very pleasant. The boat was in great condition and the crew was friendly. The sites that were visited are very picturesque. The boat gets very close to the cormorant and sea lion islands. At first when I booked I was disappointed that I hadn't booked the tour to walk with the penguins. After the trip, I was no longer disappointed. The boat beaches at the shore and the penguins are within a few feet of you. We were very satisfied. An added bonus, a whale surfaced and was swimming in front of the ship as we cruised.
star-5
Lifetime experience
sarjushah2020
, Jan 2020
Best thing to do and once in a lifetime experience . No need to do walk with penguins as it is roped off limited
star-4
Boat trip
lvinichenko18
, Jan 2020
It was interesting trip overall, but there was very bad organization in the port. We had to stay in a line for a voucher mor then 40 minutes and around 20 minutes in a line to get back to the port.
star-5
Must do in ushuaia
mmbohm
, Nov 2019
Beagle channel wild life and Marillo penguins watching are one of must do things in usuaia. Very good guide during the tour.
star-3
Nice tour too long though
antonioched
, Mar 2019
I liked the tour. Although i took the half day tour but i still found it long and repetitive. Scenes are beyond amazing but the noise did not let us hear well the tourist guide who was ok bit not really great.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2020
Dear Antonio Chedrawy, We are sorry to hear that the Boat Trip to Penguin Colony did not meet all your expectations. This is a great option for those who do not have enough time and wish to see the colony. We hope you have enjoyed the beautiful landscapes of southern Argentina and in addition our lovely friends, the penguins! Best regards
star-5
Money VERY WELL spent!
Valerie B
, Mar 2019
Boat ride was well organized, smooth and entire excursion SUPER! Saw seal lions, Gentoo and Magellanic penguins, 'Bird Island.AND on our way back to port, the boat captain turned back out to seaboatto afford us a view of the whale he had sighted. Delightful! Highly recommend thi excursion!s

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Half-Day Boat Trip to Penguin Colony from Ushuaia
Half-Day Boat Trip to Penguin Colony from Ushuaia

star-4.554

4 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$113.64

star-41

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$111.00

star-4.55

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$58.11

star-00

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$187.00

star-536

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$50.00 $45.00

star-41

11 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$250.00

star-4.539

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$60.00

Explore Similar Things to Do